Discernment in Publication

A close brother of mine commented on my blog about how I approached the topics of what I wrote.  He pointed out my reasoning behind how I wrote, showing how they fell short of Biblical principles.  This made me realize that the heart behind some of my posts was not the edification of the brethren (We should sincerely evaluate whether each post IS, in fact, edifying, not giving some wishy-washy reasoning of how it is edifying), but actually complaining for the sake of selfish pride.  It’s quite unfortunate that even when a gem of truth can be spoken, a heart of pride can be evident.  Thanks, Ming.

This morning in our SGL Mtg, Justin addressed this very issue – discernment in technology.  He pointed at facebook, blogs, myspace, and even emails as venues where we think Christian conduct is not demanded of us.  Everything that we place on the Internet is kept for a long time, most likely up to the point of Judgment, if the Internet is affected at that time (Who knows?  It’s a possibility.).

For that reason, my previously proclaimed purpose of blogging isn’t so wise.  Is there any reason why I should make the effort to not qualify what I say when my words can easily be taken out of context?  If that takes a long time, then should I really blog about it?  There are plenty more resources out there such that I do not need to think that the world is dependent on my theological blurbs.  I should strive to ensure that the miscommunication of God’s truth through my blogs is of the lowest possiblity.  If something I say can be used against me in the future, then it wouldn’t be above reproach.

Since I am unsure whether I have been the most discerning in my posts in the past, these have now been made private.  If I have time, then I’ll go through them and filter through them, but that’s not now.  Perhaps this is the reason as to why blogs of the layman these days aren’t as headstrong and controversial as those of the renown theologians.  Well, should God’s grace and my diligence allow, one day I might have a blog like that.

One Response to Discernment in Publication

  1. jonathan says:

    thanks for your humility in this, in response to the stuff we heard today, chris. i think i need to think about it some more too.

Leave a Reply

